Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards


Future stars of the stage revealed!

Over 1,700 students from 63 schools across Ireland attend the Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards                                                                                                                       
Special guests include Amy Huberman and Aoibhín Garrihy

The winners of the 2017 Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards were announced on May 17th at a special Awards ceremony at the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre.

Hosted by RTÉ 2FM presenter Eoghan McDermott, over 1,700 primary and secondary school students representing 63 schools from across Ireland attended the event and waited in suspense as the 2017 winners were revealed! On the day, a number shortlisted schools had the opportunity to perform live on Ireland’s largest theatre stage and students were also treated to a surprise performance by four-piece band, The Strypes!

Now in its fourth year, the Awards were set up by Bord Gáis Energy to recognise and reward participation in the dramatic arts in schools around Ireland. This year, 2616 entries were received from a record 309 primary and secondary schools.

Special guests at the Awards ceremony included members of the Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards judging panel; actor and author Amy Huberman, Dancing with the Stars runner-up Aoibhín Garrihy, best-selling novelist Sinéad Moriarty, writer and storyteller Dave Rudden; Bord Gáis Energy Theatre Manager Stephen Faloon and Bord Gáis Energy sponsorship programme manager Tanya Townsend.

Open to primary school pupils from 3rd – 6th class and all secondary school students, the Awards featured 12 categories including performance and production categories such as Best Overall School Musical, Best Costumes, and Best Performance in a Leading Role to written categories such as Best Dramatic Review and Best Short Scene Script. A new category, Best Original Production, was also added to the 2017 Awards in appreciation of the exceptional quality of original productions entered in 2016.

Commenting on the Awards, Dave Kirwan Managing Director, Bord Gáis Energy said: “We set up these Awards four years ago to recognise and reward the incredible effort that goes into schools’ drama all around Ireland at both primary and secondary level. Today was about celebrating all the hard work that the students, teachers and parents put into schools’ drama whether it is acting, writing or directing.”

“I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all of our winners today and everyone who entered this year’s Awards – the talent, creativity and enthusiasm shown by students, teachers and parents has been exceptional!”

Bord Gáis Energy will be announcing dates for the 2018 Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards in the coming months. Schools who wish to enter next year’s awards can register their interest on Don’t miss out!

Previous articleSmart Futures’ FREE CAREER TALKS
Next article